Mayan Archaeology > Campeche > Campeche
A wonder of Chenes style architecture
In the Mayan language, its name means “Painted Vault”. It is a sample of the Chenes style that had its peak during the late Classic period, although the first evidence of human occupation dates back to 500 to 50 B.C. The site was discovered in 1842.
The city covers an approximate area of 1.32 square kilometers, where mounds corresponding to pyramids, platforms, chambered buildings and living quarters are distributed. Most of them are unexcavated. The only construction that has been excavated is Building A, which has various rooms distributed longitudinally, and three towers with simulated temples on their summit.
This structure, also known as Temple-Palace, was built during the period known as the late Classic period (600 to 800 A.D.). It is a platform that is approximately 76 meters long and 30 m wide, which three Rio Bec style towers stood over, alternating with chambers. The only tower that remains standing is on the Eastern side, it is crowned by a false temple which was accessed through false flights of stairs. The false accesses to the temple are decorated with enormous stylized masks of the Monster of the Earth and stucco masks of Chaac, the Mayan god of rain, can be appreciated on its corners.
Other buildings that feature prominently in Dzibilnocac are the Northeast Temple annex, the Southwest Temple, the North Platform, The Puuc Patio, the Great Acropolis with a sauna, the West Building, and the South Worship site.
|Hours||Monday through Sunday from 8:00 to 17:00|
|How to arrive||
From the city of Campeche, take the Federal Highway 261 leading to the town of Hopelchén (90 km), which links to the town of Dzibalchén; from there take the road that leads to the town of Iturbide (20 km) –the site is 200 meters away.